jump to navigation

Blogger Burnout and How the iPad Could Save Us All April 7, 2010

Posted by pupfiction in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

As you may or may not have noticed, I have been recently shirking my posting duties, remaining far from the blogosphere in general for the last few weeks. Something happened to which I cannot quite point my finger. Call it the late-Winter doldrums, the bursting of Spring, or just being overworked–I find that the less I have to think these days, the better. While I once checked Twitter fanatically, I have not even signed on (nor desire to sign on) in weeks. So imagine my surprise when I reluctantly returned to one of my favorite blogs – Shapely Prose – and found that founder, die-hard blogger and technocrat, Kate Harding, was suffering from exactly the same sentiments.

Blogger Burnout Conceptualized (from gelaskins.com)

What first drew me to her post was its alluring first line about the purchase of an iPad. Being a member of the I-think-I’m-better-than-you-because-I-have-a-Mac team, I am very interested in any new review of Apple’s latest product, especially now that the fanfare has subsided and voices of both Apple lovers and haters have relented. And what I found most refreshing about Harding’s post was its honesty. The iPad is not an ideal medium for work, nor for interacting with the media found on the web, according to Harding. But, the iPad is ideal for consuming media–photos, videos, television shows, music, etc. And because it is not as effortless to comment on articles, blogs, etc. as it might be with a netbook, the iPad forces us to s l o w  d o w n and digest, something, according to Harding, that we have forgotten to do. And this is why she and I have both suffered from blogger burnout. Instead of thinking about what we have just read, we were always thinking of how to comment, how to create a post, how to formulate a witty tweet. (Ironic, I know, in that I am doing just that.)

Harding cites an important quote from an iPad review by Laura Miller on Salon.com. Miller warns that our society is in danger of “living in a culture where everyone’s talking and nobody’s listening”.

From gelaskins.com

Well perhaps this was exactly my problem. I work over sixty hours a week and finding time to think even more is beyond exhausting. So I found myself doing exactly what Harding was doing–watching craptastic tv. Like her, my reading and writing, two activities that I used to love, have seriously suffered. That’s why her post touched me so much. But while she hopes to someday take a vacation with an iPad, a gadget that will help her “listen”, I just want a day off to hike through the woods. How’s that for a disconnect?

Comments»

1. Mike - April 7, 2010

I think the burnout symptoms are inevitable given the constant info-bombardment we endure (and seem to enjoy….). Yesterday’s WSJ had a very long article about adult ADD, often caused by similar overloads.
What was I saying? Never mind.
By the way, I like the jpg’s you posted.

2. dataduchess - April 7, 2010

I understand how you feel. I was beginning to feel the same way but have found a few things that have helped. First, I’ve given up trying to keep up with Twitter. I made a “list” of a few people that I actually care about what they post, and check only that one regularly. Everyone else, I just see what’s on the screen when I log in and no more. (I’ve also been cutting back on people I follow). I’ve also stopped trying to keep up with my blog aggregater- and clearing out chunks of articles I haven’t read, without feeling guilty about it. And lastly, and more blogging related – I’m thinking of doing more frequent short posts, just to pass along interesting things, without feeling like I have to do an analysis or in-depth commentary every time. I’ll also feel better when I’m done with 2666 (about 4 more weeks).

3. sypemethy - December 10, 2010

thks for your info!


Leave a Reply

