jump to navigation

How to Get Cheap TV (Sports Fans Need Not Apply) December 16, 2009

Posted by pupfiction in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Everyday, it seems, another one of my friends cancels their cable service, deciding instead to stream shows from the internet, join Netflix, or watch shows on their laptops. While I have watched with envy as my friends save over a hundred dollars a month, my husband’s love of SportsCenter (ESPN’s flagship program), not to mention everything else sports related, has kept us from joining their parsimonious ranks. Because I thought the movement to circumvent cable’s outrageous fees was an underground movement, I was surprised to see the New York Times Personal Tech section explain just such a move. Nick Bilton explains, in the Times column, how he and his wife have pieced together different technologies to create a fulfilling (if not slightly more labor intensive) method of watching the tube. Check out the full article to see if you are savvy enough to do the same. While I don’t see my family canceling cable anytime soon, perhaps at least this will cause the service providers to lower their rates.

Comments»

1. Julia - December 16, 2009

I love being able to have free access to shows on the internet, but I do get annoyed when my computer and/or internet connection can’t handle it. I haven’t tried in awhile, so I was please to learn from the article that some sites are adding a downloadable application.

Also, antenna users can get their sports fix from the “universal sports” channel. I started getting it with a digital converter box, and it features some entertaining and bizarre sports. In addition to seasonal offerings such as swimming, skiing, and triathalons, I’ve also seen sports such as rhythmic gymnastics, synchronized swimming, and underwater hockey (which I had always thought was something my gym teacher made up, but apparently not). However, no major league “normal” sports.

pupfiction - December 16, 2009

The sports channel sounds interesting (and kind of humorous). I’ll have to check it out!


Leave a Reply

