jump to navigation

60 Years of the National Book Awards November 11, 2009

Posted by pupfiction in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

For its 60th anniversary of National Book Awards, the National Book Foundation decided to let the public vote on the last 77 fiction winners for their choice as the “Best of National Book Awards Fiction”. Unfortunately, the voting ended October 21st, but it’s fun to look at this visual list of all the past winners (each book cover links to a blog entry about the book).  The winner will be announced on November 18th.

Whenever I see these lists I can’t help but to count how many I have read. This time I only got a (shameful) 5! How did you fare?

Comments»

1. dataduchess - November 11, 2009

Great post!

I only read 4 of the books on the list, but I had 2 interesting thoughts as I looked over the covers. First, I was amazed at how many of the covers looked familiar, and recognized a few as ones I recall being on my parents’ nightstands.

The second thought that occurred to me is perhaps more disturbing: of the 4 books I read, I was unsatisfied by 3 of them.

Before I realized that, I had been thinking I should look for some of the previous winners… but now, I wonder if I shouldn’t bother.

2. julia - November 12, 2009

Everyone knows that I have seen about zero movies in my life, but I somehow managed to have see more movies of these than read the books. Yikes. But I did enjoy that they included the original cover art for the list.

3. Monday Book Review: The Robber Bridegroom « The Infomavens' Desktop - November 30, 2009

[…] 30, 2009 · Leave a Comment Recently, we posted about the National Book Awards, and I was surprised at how few of the 77 past fiction winners I had […]

4. Monday Book Review: them « The Infomavens' Desktop - January 25, 2010

[…] Tags: book review, books, Detroit, fiction, Joyce Carol Oates, WWII trackback Last year when we posted about the 60th anniversary of the National Book Awards, I was surprised at how few of the winners I had read. Since then, I read and reviewed the novella […]


Leave a Reply

