jump to navigation

Spring 2666 Update March 2, 2010

Posted by dataduchess in 2666.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

It’s been awhile since I mentioned our 2666 Group Read, so I thought it was about time to post an update. Today begins Week 6, so we are a little more than a third of the way through the book. Due to the significant (an understatement) storms and power outages we experienced last week, this is the first time I have finished a section well before the Monday deadline. Instead of reading the book this morning to finish the section (this week we finished The Part About Fate), I have the opportunity to reflect on what I have read, and to absorb some of the really insightful posts other readers have been putting on their blogs.

Although I have been mostly enjoying reading 2666 as a group so far (the group aspect has kept me motivated to push through some slow parts) one feeling I had not anticipated was how much I feel like I am missing from the reading. Some of the other readers are making some truly wonderful connections between history, symbolism and metaphors and themes – and I’m still just reading a story. I take things at face value, as they are written, and if the allusion isn’t glaring, I just move past it. In The Part About Fate, we have a whole section about a character that is obviously based on a real-life figure. I knew enough to recognize that, but that’s where my thinking stops, and I just read the words for what they say. Other readers in the group read have put the words in context as though they were said by the real-life figure, and by adding his life experience to the written words, there is another level to the meaning, another (hidden) message from the author, another theme to be discussed.

I liked reading most of the assigned books in High School English class. I hated English class. That’s kind of how I feel now. At least now, I don’t have to come up with these theories on my own. I can just read for the pleasure of the story, and then check the blogs to see what I’m missing.

Lots of good stuff collected here, the main site for the Group Read:
Las obras de Roberto BolaƱo

Other insights:
Infinite Zombies
Naptime Writing

Comments»

1. mike - March 2, 2010

Good post, now I want to see more of those comments. Who is the historical figure in the Part about Fate?

2. dataduchess - March 2, 2010

The character is Barry Seaman, based on Bobby Seale, founder of the Black Panthers.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

