jump to navigation

Monday Book Review: The Robber Bridegroom November 30, 2009

Posted by dataduchess in Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Recently, we posted about the National Book Awards, and I was surprised at how few of the 77 past fiction winners I had read. So, I picked a few titles to find at my local library. I had once read a book where the main character was named Eudora, after the famous American writer, and have since been curious about her – so Eudora Welty was my first choice from the National Book Awards list.

My library did not have in stock the actual award winner, The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty, so I browsed and chose the presently reviewed novella.

The Robber Bridegroom, published in 1942, is a fairy tale, similar in style and theme to many a Brothers Grimm tale. The beautiful daughter of a rich plantation owner is lured away from her home by a bandit, and the two fall in love and encounter a number of unpleasant characters and obstacles, from the girl’s mean and ugly stepmother to the tattletale numbskull neighborboy, Goat, to the psychotic cave-dweller, Little Harp, who is told what to do by his brother’s head, which is kept on a spike in a trunk nearby. The story is both enchanting and confusing, as a few of the characters are apparently legendary in Southern folklore, and perhaps a little prior knowledge of their mythos would have been helpful. Despite this, it was a lovely story, and the writing was as beautiful as it was sprightly and refined.

Eudora Welty

In my curiosity about the Pulitzer Prize-winning author, I found that after her death in 2001, her home in Jackson, Mississippi, was restored and preserved by The Eudora Welty Foundation in a tribute to her, her writing and photography, and as she wished, also to arts and literature in general. The goals of the foundation are to promote and encourage reading and the efforts of young writers, as well as maintain the writer’s home for visitation, education and inspiration. Eudora Welty was also an avid gardener, and the gardens around her home have been restored and preserved. The home and gardens are open for tours in person by reservation. However, if you aren’t planning a trip to Mississippi any time soon, the home is open 24 hours, 7 days a week for a virtual tour on the website. It’s worth checking out.

Comments»

1. pupfiction - November 30, 2009

Nothing like a fairy tale! Can’t wait to check it out.

2. Josie - November 30, 2009

Great review, makes me not only want to read the book but take a road trip to Mississippi. I might have to settle for the virtual tour!

3. decocards - November 30, 2009

Looks good, I’m always looking for new books to read!

4. slvc - November 30, 2009

Thanks for the review! We considered doing the play my senior year of high school & I’ve loved the story ever since.
Neat stuff about Eudora Welty! I had no idea….

5. Margaret Dilloway, American Housewife - December 1, 2009

I remember seeing this as a musical at my high school. I had no appreciation for its sophistication at the time.

6. sunny - December 1, 2009

someone says,
Don’t judge a book by its cover,
but that book’s cover is so beautiful!

7. iloveseoul - December 1, 2009

someone says,
Don’t judge a book by its cover,
but that book’s cover is so beautiful that I want to read!

8. mikedoyle - December 1, 2009

Your link to the Eudora Welty Foundation also revealed many interesting things. Thanks for the review and the posting.

9. Monday Book Review: them « The Infomavens' Desktop - January 25, 2010

[...] National Book Awards, I was surprised at how few of the winners I had read. Since then, I read and reviewed the novella The Robber Bridegroom by Eudora Welty, and now I have finally finished and will review them, by Joyce Carol Oates, National Book Award [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

